…holy shit
None of the characters ever figure this out because they stop taking math at age 11
Alright I have seen this post so many times and it pisses me the fuck off. Saying that “sickles are just silver and galleons are just gold” is like saying pennies are just copper and cash is just paper.
What the fuck makes you think that you can just go “get new money minted?” You don’t think they have any fucking currency regulation? I can’t walk up to the bank, hand them paper, and go “Okay, make this money!”
You think you can just melt down your mom’s necklace and turn it into currency? The wizard economy would get FUCKED. We’re talking inflation up the wazoo! What about alchemy?? Any bitch who can make gold (or has a sorcerer’s stone) would just go to the bank and make it money! Money only has value because it is regulated and you can’t just make it all willy nilly! If banks just made any lump of gold or silver someone brought in into money, then why even have the banks make the money at all? No restrictions? Just make the money yourselves!
A SIGNIFICANTLY more plausible plan would be to do this same thing (which would actually probably be good for the economy, by taking money out of the market) and then SELL it to the banks or whoever will buy it. A piece of silver that is the same volume as a sickle is NOT worth a sickle until the bank puts the damn stamp on it.
Y’all bitch about Hogwarts students not taking math but what about BASIC ECONOMICS?